Daily Life · Prayer and Thanksgiving · Spiritual Life

Thanksgiving in February

Thanksgiving. Not the day, but the prayers of.  For me, lately, its been hard to be thankful, so I’m going to use this blog to share the good, the bad, and the ugly. To be thankful in all circumstances, that is what we are called to do. In all honesty, we are so very blessed in our lives, being thankful should be easy, but we are human, and so often it isn’t.

So here is my list of things we have to be thankful for – the December through January update version.

Graduation- We graduated! This is a huge praise. We are so thankful for the school, even when the days were long and intense, the school is renowned for its vigorous program and high standards. It was hard to say goodbye, but as goodbyes are in the job description, I’m always thankful that it’s hard because that means we made dear friends along the way.

Nasty Cold- While I wasn’t very thankful during the four weeks I had this nasty cough/cold/sinus infection that knocked me out while moving, I am thankful that it’s gone. I’m thankful it was just a cold, and nothing more serious. I’m thankful for the help we received in moving, and the doctors and medicines available, and most of all the prayers from around the world that helped pull me out of it.

Health Pregnancy – I often imagine a little shop foreman, going to reset a sign, though instead of ‘zero days without an accident’ it says ‘zero days without vomiting.’ His head is hung low, and he got his hopes up, 2-3, maybe 4 days, and he now has to reset the sign again. This is my pregnancy. But she’s healthy and I’m healthy, so we are so very thankful for that. Of course, morning sickness always makes for some interesting stories…

In early January, I was on hold with the water company, Chris was driving us to IKEA, to pick up some things we needed after we’d moved. I’d been on hold about 10 minutes already, when he had to pull over so I could vomit for a good ten minutes out the car door. The lovely gentleman came on the line just as I was righting myself. Chris didn’t have the account information to give him to complete moving our account, so I had to go from puking to french in .2 seconds. Only the Holy Spirit could have given me the words I needed in that moment!

I’m also thankful for the recommendation by the pastors wife for my OB, my past two appointments have gone very well.  Also, after having been pretty under the weather and sedentary, not to mention sore from weeks of coughing fits while pregnant, I’m trying to get some of my energy back. There is a lap pool not far from us, and getting to go swimming was so refreshing, and helped alleviate some of my back and hip pain. I am so very thankful that I have a husband who not only had helped keep us moving while I was under the weather, but has encouraged me to get out try and get some exercise.  He’s been taking care of our family in so many ways these last few months.

Lice- This one is a hard one. We’ve gone three rounds of it so far, and I think this is the hardest thing to be thankful for! I keep thinking of Corrie Ten Boom’s sister who was thankful for the fleas. I can’t say I wouldn’t have thrown something at her, if she were my sister. But, if she can be thankful for the fleas in a concentration camp, then I have zero grounds for complaining about what is essentially a ‘cosmetic problem’ in a first world country. So, I am thankful I am now an expert on removing tiny, dainty, and extraordinarily persistant french lice.

The church- This one doesn’t have a grumpy side. The church here is so very welcoming, taking us in as family, and charging themselves with teaching us french culture and helping improve our french. We’ve been welcomed into many homes, where they’ve loved on our kids, even if they didn’t have any. Each family has been so patient with our language. They have fed us like royalty each time. We were very curious how they all managed to eat like that and all stay so healthy and fit. The answer is soup. When they are not wining and dining guests, they ‘souper’ (soup-A), which is eating soup for dinner. We’ve learned this and so much already. Chris has been very busy with church activities, and we are involved as a family whenever possible. We are also thankful for our churches back in the states, who prayed us through our first Christmas abroad, our move, my health, and who continue to support us in prayer.

The kid’s school and friends- While Oliver is moving a little slower in adjusting to his new class, Avonlea has really started to enjoy going. She has found a little friend with whom she enjoys playing with, and Chris and I are so thankful for that. She has such a big heart, and so much desire to love people. I’m also chaperoning a field trip for her class to go ice skating, and am excited about that opportunity as well.

There is so much to be thankful for, so many blessings, but life is real and raw and sometimes a little daunting. We appreciate your prayers, and often ask so often for you to pray for us. This time, please rejoice with us.

For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him. Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing. (1 Thessalonians 5:9-11 ESV)

and

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 ESV)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

