Uncategorized

Body and soul

For the second time in a month, I got the flu. *1* Right after Christmas, it was a stomach bug that normally travels under the surname “Montezuma.” This week, it wasn’t as specific or malicious, though it still took me out for more than twice as long. I can’t be sure, but I’m pretty sure the kids gave this to me. Again. 

KIDS!

Specifically, the boy. I don’t think Avonlea ever got me sick, though she did give me a busted lip recently. I’d consider putting him out on the street, but then there’s this to think about. 

Image

 

Look at that face, how could you not keep that face?

All of this has had me thinking of how closely tied our souls are to our bodies. How so much of what we do revolves around our appetites, our desires, our needs, real or imagined, and how much overlap there is between the mind and the body. 

Avonlea is a little sinner to be sure, but when she’s well fed and rested it manifests itself a whole lot less. The same is even more true for me. Being little, the kids put all kinds of limitations on what we can do and where we can go, but this isn’t a bad thing, it’s just a reminder of just how, for lack of a better word, “real” we all are. They’re a good reminder that God made us this way, and to some extent, intended for us to be this way, created beings with physical bodies that have physical limitations. To some extent, such realities remind us that we are not quite the little gods we sometimes like to imagine ourselves to be. 

I was thinking of the more positive aspects of this not too long ago as well. Our pastor is preaching through Revelation on Sunday mornings, and as he preached through chapter 5 it occurred to me that two things will be very true in heaven. 1. Whatever sort of new bodies we receive, what makes us distinctive here on earth will not be totally done away with. John looks and sees every nationality and language and type of person gathered around the throne, and if he’s able to make that distinction then it means they still exist, even in heaven. 2. While we remain distinct human beings, our purpose and focus is finally, and completely unified in the worship of Jesus Christ. Which, practically speaking, means that in heaven, the black family that sits near us in worship on Sundays will still be black, and I’ll still be white, and yet all the barriers that those differences create here on earth will be no more. 

I think Revelation 5 is one of the most motivating chapters for missions there is. John’s vision includes the French, and every other people group on this planet, and, on days when I lack motivation to keep pressing on with support raising, it’s a good reminder that God still loves the French, and has called us to go reach them. Body and soul. 

We’ve got some busy weeks ahead of us, please pray for us as we come and go. Thank you again for your prayers. 

*1* I can’t verify that it was the actual flu, as I didn’t go to the doctor in either case. If you’re the type to care about such things. 

Leave a Reply

