Uncategorized

Recommended reading…

By this time next week, I should be done with my ordination exams. By this time tomorrow, I should be done with my theology exam. Which means that yesterday, (my normal day to post updates) and today (my makeup day when I forget on Wednesday), and really, pretty much every moment since I took my Bible exam, have been spent studying the wide variety of topics covered by reformed theology. At least with the Bible exam, you know it can only cover 66 books!

Since this is another short update, I thought I would offer up some supplemental reading. We’re often asked, “why France?” It’s a good question, and the answer isn’t an easy one, but I do think that it is at least partially due to a series of books written by an Englishmen who moved to Provence and wrote all about his experience. Peter Mayle’s first book, “A Year in Provence” is over 20 years old now, but I seriously doubt all that much has changed in that time. While I don’t think Mayle was a Christian, I think his books embody the perfect spirit of a good missionary. Namely, he put aside his conceptions of how things should be, or work, and allowed himself to to be amused and taken in by the eccentricities of the native population. They are wonderful books, (there’s four of them specifically about his adventures in Provence), well written and enjoyable from cover to cover. I could go on and on about these books, (and I may sometime in another post), but I really do need to get back to studying.

As always, I appreciate your prayers. My exams are, I think, going well, and the ability to take in this much information in this small amount of time is certainly due to the number of people who are lifting the three of us up in prayer each day. Thank you, thank you, thank you and God bless!

 

Here’s a link to the first book, “A Year in Provence.” You can get it for less than $3.00 on Amazon, but if you live close, I’d be happy to let you borrow it for free!

Leave a Reply

